GradeA FAQ > Merging data with the iOS Attendance app > What is the difference between the automatic merge and manual merge?
The merge options are used to copy data between GradeA and your iOS Attendance attend.db file. The automatic merge option only adds data. Any students or dates that are in one file, but not the other will be added to the other file (i.e., data may be added to both files).
The manual merge option will ask you whether to add missing data. This option should be used if you have deleted a student or date from GradeA or Attendance and want to delete the data from the other application instead of having it added back from the system that still has the data.
Both options also look for conflicting data at the end of the merge. If there is any conflicting data, you will be asked which way to copy the data.